Sports Photography

This weeks directed learning, Becky has asked us to capture three sport shots one upright and two wide. For this I have booked out a 70-200mm lens, i booked out this lens instead of a 300mm lens because this was practise shots for my assignment and I don’t feel comfortable using a 300mm as I haven’t had a lot of practise with it. For this directed learning we travelled to university of south wales Treforest campus, because that is where the sports centre is for the uni. Every Wednesday there are matches between different university’s in a range of leagues and championships.

When we were at the sport centre, there was a football match and a hockey match. The hockey match was between a group of girls, it was fairly difficult to photograph. This is because there is not a lot of action during the match and also it is usually played on a AstroTurf or a hard court so there is a fence around the edge which makes they background of the images look ugly.

These images didn’t come out very well, so I decided to go over to a field were there was a football match for the BUCS championship. This was easier to shot than the hockey however, this was still a challenge because when there was action it was over relatively quickly so I realised I had to work fast if I wanted to get some good shots.

sport-2sport-1

After looking through my contact sheets I realised that the majority of my images are out of focus. This just shows that I need more practise for my sports photography because I need to figure out the technique behind photographing sports.

Final Images

Leave a comment